The Porch Press

Serving the Historic Atlanta Neighborhoods of Grant Park, Ormewood Park, East Atlanta, Benteen Park, Glenwood Park, and environs

GPNA Monthly Meeting Minutes – January 2022

Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Call to Order–7:30pm. President’s Introduction: Confirmation of Samantha McKinlay for 2022 Fundraising Chair. Appointment of Lauren Watt as Secretary. Call for engagement in NPU.

Treasurer’s Update: End of year report. Grant request from Atlanta Preservation Center for $500.

Public Official Update: Councilmember Bakhtiari can be reached at, 404-274-8115, or sign up for newsletter at Councilmember Winston can be reached at or 404-290-7347.

Special Orders

Item One – Public Safety – Zone 6 Update: If you experience a car break in, call 911. If you have information, videos, or pictures related to a car break in, please reach out to the commander of Zone 6 investigations LT Dearlove at NPU vehicle larceny map. Neighbors should be aware of the Hot Chocolate 15K race on 2/6/2022. A detailed route map can be found on their website.

Item Two – Land Use & Zoning. Update on the Beacon. Recently purchased by Asana Properties. 2022 NPU-W LUZ Committee Co-Chairs will be Skyler Hassan & Michael Snyder (Vice-President of SAND). Meeting schedule will remain as the 1st Tuesdays at 7PM.

Item Three – Homes & History: Design regulations rewrite has finished with the city, and we’ll be moving to the reading focus in January of 2022. Call for volunteers. Preservation Minute.

Item Four – Transportation: Transportation Committee update.

Item Five – Technology Committee: Call for volunteers.

Item Six – Fundraising Committee. Call for volunteers.

Item Seven – Community Items: New business at 753a Cherokee Avenue: Boyd Baker Introduction. Boyd can be reached at

Information from The Porch Press: Email to contribute any news items. Email to get on the monthly mailing list.

Approval of the December Minutes. New Business. Adjournment – 8:30pm.

GPNA Officers and Steering Committee – Online Directory. Visit for committee meetings and Zoom links.

Catherine Manci – President; Laura Keen – Vice President; Emily Spillane – Secretary; Evelyn Pannell – Treasurer; Samantha McKinlay – Fundraising Chair; Skyler Hassan – Land Use & Zoning Chair; Chris Newman – Public Safety Committee Chair; Paul Simo – Homes & History Committee Chair; Stephanie Taylor Warner – Technology & Communications Chair; Phillip Kelly – Transportation Chair